Let’s Get Real: Abortion Edition

Let’s Get Real: Abortion Edition

Seriously, this is a difficult discussion to have with anyone.  There are so many facets to the topic of abortion and the tone gets serious very, very fast.  But that doesn’t change the fact that abortion is real, and it happens, and it almost never is a pleasant situation to be in.  So, let’s talk about it.

People typically group the debate on abortion rights and all that goes with them into two groups: “pro-life” and “pro-choice.”  I think that this is too serious of a topic to be watered down into such black and white categories.  When they say they are one or the other, they are asking whether or not you are for or against abortions.  I’ll spare you the history lesson, but I have to make sure to clear up that both of these titles come with a slew of political and religious views that people cling very tightly to, so they are not to be answered on a whim, without consideration, and definitely not without empathy for the other person’s opinion.

Here is what I’ve observed and the conclusion I’ve drawn from conversations and from my own personal feelings:

I don’t ever want to be in the position to need to decide whether or not to have an abortion.  That sounds like a horrible place to be.  There are so many different situations that lead to that place that there is no way to begin to understand until you are there yourself.  However, once you are there and have to decide, what do you do?  Do you even have the choice to decide or has someone else already decided for you?

In the United States, there are politicians that want blanket legislation that is black and white and simply says, “No, you can’t have an abortion regardless of your situation.”  This is the stance many pro-life people take.  Then, there are people that go so far as to say that we should even let people get abortions funded by our federal taxes.  These are what people might define as pro-choice.  Those are the broad assumptions people may make when they ask this question.  But, it can be much more complicated than that, and I believe that complicated is appropriate for this topic.

It is very easy to jump to the conclusion and say, “Absolutely not!  There is no way I’m down to kill a baby!”  Or, “It is my body and my decision, back off!”  But, there is nothing wrong with feeling both of those feelings at the same time.  You CAN acknowledge that while you would never make the decision to have an abortion even in the most extreme circumstances, others might need to.  And that ability to decide when necessary is what people might mean when they say they’re pro-choice.  I still maintain that pro-life and pro-choice are watered down terms and do not truly explain how a person feels about this topic.

I formed my opinion from what I would want to be available to the women in my life if they were in this situation.  I’m of the opinion that it should not be up to the government to decide whether or not you can make the decision to have or not have an abortion.  That is a decision for the person and a dr. to discuss and make on a case by case basis.  Of course there will be people that seem callous and might take advantage of this, but taking away a right of reasonable people because some situations just don’t feel right to you should not be the answer.  Maybe there is another way to connect with those people and to get them to see your point of view.  I also do not think that our government should get to decide to spend tax dollars to fund an abortion.  I think the right should exist to both decide and fund their abortion if they happen to be in what I think must be one of the most difficult decisions of a lifetime.  However, I do think that government funds should be afforded to non-profits that exist solely to educate people about every scientific aspect of an abortion from the potential physical side-effects to the emotional and social side-effects it may have to the support groups and therapy that exist to help cope with this life event.  I would want that if I were a woman, and I would want that for the women in my life.

I recognize that this is an issue that is very close to many people and I want to make clear that it isn’t my intention to offend anyone.  This is always an evolving topic in my life and I welcome all discussion.  I hope that this has helped in any way with how you might view other’s points of view and that we continue to grow and learn and love together!

 

 

Leave a Reply

